Per Aspera Ad Astra Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/ Mon, 11 Dec 2017 08:20:04 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Tue, Sep 05, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-05-2017.html Tue, 05 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 04, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-04-2017.html <p>Tready. 6:45 AP.</p> Mon, 04 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Sep 03, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-03-2017.html <p>Yesterday&#39;s long run was perhaps a bit soon after being sick most of last week. Wiped out today.</p> Sun, 03 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 02, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-02-2017.html <p>Long, easy, mountain run with Lara. 4200&#39; gain. Felt good until about 19, when dusty air got the best of my lungs. Last climb was terrible, as was last descent. Threw up afterwards from all the coughing. Need to be smarter with my inhaler.</p> Sat, 02 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 01, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-01-2017.html <p>Mostly better finally. Run home at 6:24 AP.</p> Fri, 01 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 31, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-31-2017.html <p>Still feeling sick. 3.4 home at 6:23 pace. Ugh.</p> Thu, 31 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 30, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-30-2017.html <p>Sick. Feel like crap.</p> Wed, 30 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 29, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-29-2017.html <p>Feeling like crap. Sick. Just did a quick 3.4 at 6:35 AP to get in a run.</p> Tue, 29 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 28, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-28-2017.html <p>A bit sick and exhausted from travel.</p> Mon, 28 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Aug 27, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-27-2017.html <p>7:04 AP moving down from 7:47 mile 1 to 6:22&nbsp;mile 8.&nbsp;San Francisco. A little humid, but not bad, heat wise.</p> Sun, 27 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 26, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-26-2017.html <p>San Fran. Fisherman&#39;s Wharf over the bridge, through Sausalito, and back. 6:48 AP with last 4 picked up a bit to 6:20 average.</p> Sat, 26 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 25, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-25-2017.html <p>Hard run of bosho from Dry Creek to City Creek (45:47) and back easy&nbsp;on roads.</p> Fri, 25 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 23, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-23-2017.html <p>AM: 9 at 6:56 AP with 320&#39; gain. Pm: 3.5 home at 7:03 ap.</p> Wed, 23 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 22, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-22-2017.html <p>Evening run. 7:18 AP. 310&#39; gain.</p> Tue, 22 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 21, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-21-2017.html <p>Pre eclipse. 70% sloooow trails, 30% roads. 9:13 AP with 600&#39; gain.</p> Mon, 21 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Aug 20, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-20-2017.html <p>Recovery after 50k. 8:06 AP. Roads in Grand Teton NP. 190&#39; gain.</p> Sun, 20 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 19, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-19-2017.html <p>Easy win at Harriman 50k (because&nbsp;Fritz didn&#39;t run). Lost 5 min due to screwed-with flags in first loop. Eventually backed off until I could&nbsp;run with someone who knew the course. He tried to drop me at halfway when I spent 30s drinking fruit punch. I caught back up 1 mile later and never&nbsp;saw him again a mile after that. Easy effort for a race, but I won&nbsp;by probably 30 min, so I didn&#39;t need to do more. Encouraging before Bear, but I still need to get better at eating more while running ultras. I had course a little short, but I had watch on a less accurate mode. RD apparently mapped it dead on. Who knows or cares.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sat, 19 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 18, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-18-2017.html <p>Shakeout. 7:26 AP.</p> Fri, 18 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 16, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-16-2017.html <p>Tapering for Sat. 6:25 AP.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 16 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 15, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-15-2017.html <p>Am: 16.1. To Liberty via 2100 s, 6 laps, then back via 2700 s. 7:29 ap.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Tue, 15 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 14, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-14-2017.html <p>Am: 8 miles with Fritz and Michael Rees. 7:19 AP with 289&#39; gain. Pm: 5.8 home. Threw in a 1.4 mile pickup at 5:30 pace to get a strava record because&nbsp;I&#39;m apparently motivated by easy records. &#128569;</p> Mon, 14 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Aug 13, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-13-2017.html <p>13 at 6:55&nbsp;AP. 8.6 on tready at 6:57 average, then 4.4 home at 6:50 average.</p> Sun, 13 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 12, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-12-2017.html <p>Elephant Rock 7 Mile Trail Run * warmup and cooldown. 1000&#39; climb in 3.4, then 1000&#39; drop in 3.4. 1st, won by something close to 10 min, and #2 for this route all time on&nbsp;Strava. Went a nice controlled tempo on the up, then cruised 6 min pace on the down. Right hammy&nbsp;was a little tight, so I couldn&#39;t quite push as hard as I wanted. Still, happy to get the win.</p> Sat, 12 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 11, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-11-2017.html <p>Tired and racing Sat, so took the day off.</p> Fri, 11 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 10, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-10-2017.html <p>Am: 7.3 with Nate. 7:13 AP with 270&#39; gain. Pm: very&nbsp;easy 5 on treadmill. 7:41 AP.</p> Thu, 10 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 09, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-09-2017.html <p>Up and down North Canyon (1450&#39; gain) with single track portion hard effort, then 0.8 more with 200&#39; gam.</p> Wed, 09 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 08, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-08-2017.html <p>Am: 8.1 with Fritz and Roo. 371&#39; gain, 7:05 AP. PM: 3.4 home. 7:07 AP.</p> Tue, 08 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 07, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-07-2017.html <p>Am: 6 with Fritz and Nate. 7:17 AP with 223&#39; vert.</p> Mon, 07 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sun, Aug 06, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-06-2017.html <p>Am: 6.1 with Shipleys. 7:28 AP with 266&#39; gain. Early Pm: Long route to campus, around sugarhouse park and up 13th/virginia and then behind jcc. 700&#39; up, 400&#39; down. 7:50 Ap. Saw tour de utah absolutely hauling down virginia while I was running up. Pretty cool.</p> Sun, 06 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 05, 2017 http://CollinAnderson.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-05-2017.html <p>Late am: quick run&nbsp;up(hill)&nbsp;to campus. 7:08 AP. 325&#39; up, 30&#39; down. Pm: upper big water loop with Shipleys. 11.6 with 2430&#39; gain. 9:30 AP.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 05 Aug 2017 06:00:00